Caverns of Thracia Enigma. Jul 18, 2017 14:01:32 GMT -6
Post by oldkat on Jul 18, 2017 14:01:32 GMT -6
Being focused on this product of late (see the CoT Maps Guide in the Judges Guild subforum), I pondered compiling a complete treasure list for the item and found something that slightly whacked my senses.
Note--there be a spoiler or 2 ahead.
In Jaquays' "Designer Comments" (p.5) it states: "There are no high power artifacts in these caverns and..." uh, but what about--?
On dungeon level 1, p.27, characters can easily explore and find chamber 13, and the treasure within. The wand of Orcus! The power gained from use of this (by an evil cleric) is described, yet appears not to follow the description provided in the 1977 AD&D monster manual (p.18), where it states that merely touching it will deal death to any being of less status than a demon prince, devil, saint or godling; the MM also alludes to other powers found in another book--referring most likely to the yet to be published DMG or perhaps supplement IV of original D&D; not sure about the latter source.
CoT came out in 1979; AD&D Monster Manual in 1977, and DMG in 1979. Why did Jaquays leave something so powerful as an artifact, one belonging to a demon Prince, so under described/written? As it stands, the item is virtually of no use to a good to neutral party, and could possibly threaten the whole expedition. If--indeed--the scenario is intended for "1st and higher levels" characters, low level groups exploring level 1 will certainly discover this item.
What do you think? Was this just typical (of the time) designing-on-the-fly for fun's sake? Or did Jaquays have something else in mind when putting this item within the scenario?